Computer Security Division

Computer Security Division

Today’s information technology (IT) environment includes the continued proliferation of information, the rapid growth of devices connecting to the communications infrastructure, and an evolving threat environment. All of these factors create the need for cybersecurity standards and best practices addressing interoperability, usability and privacy, which continue to be critical to the Nation.

The Computer Security Division (CSD), a component of NIST’s Information Technology Laboratory (ITL), is responsible for developing standards, guidelines, tests and metrics for the protection of non-national security federal information and communications infrastructure.


The Computer Security Division is organized into the following groups:

Cryptographic Technology Group
Secure Systems and Applications Group
Security Components and Mechanisms Group
Security Outreach and Integration Group
Security Testing, Validation, and Measurement Group





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *